The fourth branch of Yoga is Pranayama Means developing awareness of breathing (to be put under voluntary control).

PRANA means vital energy or cosmic energy.

AYAMA means to lengthen or to restrict.

This term is generally translated as "breath control" or "breath control" when it means "to develop awareness of the breath ".

This consciousness produces a subtle purification of the physical body (the five elements) and of Tanmatras (the subtle body). These in turn affect Manas (the emotional or conditioned mind), allowing the mind to move upward.

Pranayama also considerably purifies the energy body. Breathing control generally promotes good health but strengthens the downward movement of Manas in the physical world. In general, today's Yoga teachers and practitioners tend to control the body, the breath (energy), and the mind. Unfortunately, this process reinforces the downward movement of Ahamkara (principle of individuality) and Manas because it accentuates the feeling of being "the author of one's actions" or the feeling of "I". However, it gives us good health and a powerful ego.

Yoga Sutras of Patanjali (based on the teaching of Srivatsa Ramaswami) by Pamela Hoxsey

[Definition]

II.49. Staying in yogic postures, variously controlling the movement of inhaling and exhaling, is called Pranayama.

 

[Four factors]

II.50. Pranayama consists of exhaling , inhaling and holding and controlling the breath: at a given place (in the body), for a certain time (duration) and number. There should be a total focus on these aspects. Breathing should be long and gentle.

II.51. The fourth aspect of Pranayama is the suspension of the breath after the exhalation but before starting the next inhalation.

● Puraka or Abhyantara Vrtti - Inhale.

● Antar Kumbhaka or Stambha vrtti - Hold your breath after inhaling (Jalandhara Bandha).

● Rechaka or Bahya Vrtti - Exhale.

● Bahya Kumbhaka - Hold your breath after exhaling (Maha Bandhas big lock, 3 bandhas).

Mula Bandhas is constantly and naturally activated due to the engagement of the posture.

- Moshe Feldenkrais
"Are you ready to change? Therefore, the question arises as to whether it is possible for one to be able to freely choose new patterns of habits that are more appropriate and more suited to his unique person ”

Pranayama

27062020-JS1_6554.jpg
The bridge that leads to the state of meditation
Benefits

Asanas, bandhas, and mudras stress the importance of keeping the muscles and nadis of the lower part (mula) of the body in good tone. According to yogic theory, many important nadis are located in the anal and pelvic region, and therefore it is repeatedly emphasized that one keeps this area in good condition. In addition, it is the area of ​​the sex glands (prostate, uterus, ovaries), and good muscle tone is particularly essential for proper functioning. Without these asanas, bandhas and mudras, these areas are never exercised.

The 3 main Bandhas (locks) - Mula Bandha - Uddiyana Bandha - Jalandhara Bandha. These are energy points that engage

allow the circulation and channeling of energy. The prana is directed by currents called Vayus 5 in number which dissipate the energy up and down, the bandhas allow this energy to be conserved so that it does not dissipate. Without the activation of these bandhas in the breathing exercises, there could be adverse effects on the energy of the practitioner, which is why it is important to practice the asanas in order to have commitment and flexible column.

Pranayama reduces guna tamas (physical and mental inertia) and, along with the practice of asanas, helps cleanse the rajas system. The result is that you become very sattwic - the perfect condition for the rewarding process of meditation.

The yogabhyasi (the practitioner) can obtain certain

extraordinary influences on its own physiological functions. The basic factor of yoga is breathing. Respiratory function can be influenced more easily than any other vital function, and the yogi uses it as the first step to influence the nervous system.

II.52. Through the practice of Pranayama, the veil of tamas (heaviness; darkness) which covers the clarity of the mind is removed.

II.53. Pranayama also makes the mind suitable for Dharana (supporting an idea).

Dharana (discernment - concentration) this term is appropriate only when we realize the difference between Manas (the emotional or conditioned mind) and Buddhi (individual, sensitive intellect).

Pranayama has several physical benefits. It expands the chest, improves vital capacity, and slowly helps overcome several illnesses such as bronchial asthma, shortness of breath, and irregular breathing. Along with bandhas and mudras, it improves blood circulation to and through the heart.

Pranayama has physiological benefits. Respiratory function is both voluntary and involuntary. Normally, our breathing is shallow and involuntary. In pranayama, a deliberate attempt is made to bring the breath under greater voluntary control, thereby bringing many other involuntary conditions of the body and mind under voluntary control. The mind is trained and adapted to follow the breath and therefore attain the capacity of Ekagra (the 4th state of focus, stable, effortless concentration), which is essential for all other mental and spiritual realizations.

"Regulate the breathing, be happy, connect the spirit to the source in your heart"
- T. Krishnamacharya
Yogic breathing exercises

● Kapalabhati

● Bastrika

● Nadi Shodhana / Anuloma Viloma

● Sitali and Sitkari Pranayama

● Surya Bhedana Pranayama

● Chandra Bhedana Pranayama

● Ujjayi Pranayama

● Anuloma Ujjayi Pranayama

● Pratiloma Ujjayi Pranayama

● Viloma Ujjayi Pranayama

● Mantra Pranayama

- Swami Vivekananda
Don't lower your goals to the level of your abilities. Instead, increase your ability to meet your goals "

27062020-JS1_6554.jpg

PRANAYAMA

« Êtes-vous prêt à changer? Par conséquent, la question se pose de savoir s'il est possible que l'on puisse librement choisir de nouveaux modèles d'habitudes qui sont plus appropriés et plus adaptés à sa personne unique »
LE PONT QUI MÈNE À L’ÉTAT DE MÉDITATION

La quatrième branche du Yoga est le Pranayama.

Signifie développer la conscience de la respiration (à mettre sous contrôle volontaire).

PRANA signifie énergie vitale ou énergie cosmique.

AYAMA signifie allonger ou restreindre.

Ce terme est généralement traduit par « contrôle de la respiration » ou « contrôle du souffle » alors qu’il signifie « développer la conscience de la respiration ».

Cette conscience produit une purification subtil du corps physique (les cinq éléments) et de Tanmatras (le corps subtil). Ceux-ci à leur tour affectent Manas (le mental émotionnel ou conditionné), permettant à l’esprit d’avoir un mouvement ascendant.

Le Pranayama purifie aussi considérablement le corps énergétique. Le contrôle de la respiration favorise généralement une bonne santé mais renforce le mouvement descendant de Manas dans le monde physique. En général, les enseignants  et praticiens de Yoga actuels ont tendance à contrôler le corps, la respiration (énergie) et le mental. Malheureusement , ce processus renforce le mouvement descendant de Ahamkara (principe d’individualité) et de Manas parce qu’il accentue le sentiment d’être « l’auteur de ses actions » ou le sentiment du « Je ». Toutefois, il nous confère une bonne santé et un puissant ego.

Yoga Sutras de Patanjali (basé sur l'enseignement de Srivatsa Ramaswami) par Pamela Hoxsey

[Définition]

II.49. Rester dans les postures yogiques, contrôlant diversement le mouvement d'inspiration et d'expiration, s'appelle Pranayama.

 

[Quatre facteurs]

II.50. Le pranayama consiste à expirer, à inspirer et à retenir et contrôler la respiration: à un endroit donné (dans le corps), pendant un certain temps (durée) et nombre. Il devrait y avoir une concentration totale sur ces aspects. La respiration doit être longue et douce.

II.51. Le quatrième aspect du Pranayama est la suspension de la respiration après l'expiration mais avant de commencer la prochaine inspiration.

  • Puraka ou Abhyantara Vrtti - Inhale.

  • Antar Kumbhaka ou Stambha Vrtti - Retention après l'inspiration (Jalandhara Bandha).

  • Rechaka ou Bahya Vrtti - Exhale.

  • Bahya Kumbhaka - Retenez votre respiration après expiration (Maha Bandhas grand verrou, 3 bandhas).

Mula Bandhas est constamment et naturellement activé dû à l’engagement de la posture.

— Moshé Feldenkrais
 

AVANTAGES

« Régulez la respiration, soyez heureux, reliez l'esprit à la source dans votre cœur »
— T. Krishnamacharya

Les asanas, les bandhas et les mudras soulignent l'importance de garder les muscles et les nadis de la partie inférieure (mula) du corps dans un bon ton. Selon la théorie yogique, de nombreux nadis importants sont situés dans la région anale et pelvienne, et il est donc souligné à plusieurs reprises que l'on garde cette zone en bon état. De plus, c'est la zone des glandes sexuelles (prostate, utérus, ovaires), et un bon tonus musculaire est particulièrement essentiel au bon fonctionnement. Sans ces asanas, bandhas et mudras, ces zones ne sont jamais exercées.

Les 3 Bandhas (verrous) principaux - Mula Bandha - Uddiyana Bandha - Jalandhara Bandha. Ce sont des points énergétiques qui engagé 

permettent la circulation et la canalisation de l’énergie. Le prana est dirigé par des courant appelé Vayus au nombre de 5 qui dissipent l’énergie vers le haut et vers le bas, les bandhas permettent de conserver cette énergie afin qu’elle ne ce dissipe pas. Sans l’activation de ces bandhas dans les exercices de respiration, il pourrait y avoir des effets néfaste sur l’énergie du pratiquant, c’est pour cela que il est important de pratiquer les asanas afin d’avoir de l’engagement et une colonne souple.

Le pranayama réduit le guna tamas (inertie physique et mentale) et, avec la pratique des asanas, aide à nettoyer le système des rajas. Le résultat est que vous devenez très sattvique - la condition idéale pour le processus enrichissant de méditation.

Le yogabhyasi (le pratiquant) peut obtenir certaines 

influences extraordinaires sur ses propres fonctions physiologiques. Le facteur de base du yoga, soit, la respiration. La fonction respiratoire peut être influencée plus facilement que toute autre fonction vitale, et le yogi l'utilise comme première étape pour avoir une influence sur le système nerveux.

II.52. Par la pratique du Pranayama, le voile de tamas (lourdeur; ténèbres) qui recouvre la clarté de l'esprit, est enlevé.

II.53. Le pranayama rend également l'esprit apte à Dharana (soutenant une idée).

Dharana (discernement - concentration) ce terme est approprié uniquement lorsque nous prenons conscience de la différence existant entre Manas (le mental émotionnel ou conditionné) et Buddhi (intellect individuel, sensible). 

Le pranayama présente plusieurs avantages physiques. Il dilate la poitrine, améliore la capacité vitale et aide à surmonter lentement plusieurs maladies telles que l'asthme bronchique, l'essoufflement et la respiration irrégulière. Avec les bandhas et les mudras, il améliore la circulation sanguine vers et dans le cœur.

Le pranayama présente des avantages physiologiques. La fonction respiratoire est à la fois volontaire et involontaire. Normalement, notre respiration est superficielle et involontaire. Dans le pranayama, une tentative délibérée est faite pour amener le souffle sous un plus grand contrôle volontaire, mettant ainsi de nombreuses autres conditions involontaires du corps et de l'esprit sous contrôle volontaire. L'esprit est formé et adapté pour suivre la respiration et par conséquent atteindre la capacité d'Ekāgra (le 4e état de focus, stable, concentration sans effort), qui est essentielle pour toutes les autres réalisations mentales et spirituelles.

EXERCICES

« N'abaissez pas vos objectifs au niveau de vos capacités. Au lieu de cela, augmentez vos capacités à la hauteur de vos objectifs »
— Swami Vivekananda
EXERCICES DE RESPIRATION YOGIQUE
  • Kapālabhāti

  • Bastrika

  • Nadi Shodhana / Anuloma Viloma

  • Sitali et Sitkari Pranayama

  • Surya Bhedana Pranayama

  • Chandra Bhedana Pranayama

  • Ujjayi Pranayama

  • Anuloma Ujjayi Pranayama

  • Pratiloma Ujjayi Pranayama

  • Viloma Ujjāyī Pranayama

  • Mantra Pranayama