Moon day calendar

In the Ashtanga Vinyasa tradition, we do not practice asanas on moon days.

The   Classes   morning sessions are replaced by a Pranayama class , open to all, from 6:30 am to 8:00 am.

What is the reasoning behind this?

Like all things of an aquatic nature (humans are about 70% water), we are affected by the phases of the moon. The phases of the moon are determined by the relative position of the moon in relation to the sun. Full moons occur when they are in opposition and new moons when they are in conjunction. The sun and the moon both exert a gravitational pull on the earth. Their relative positions create different energetic experiences that can be compared to the respiratory cycle.

 

The energy of the full moon provides energy and heat, it corresponds to the end of the inhalation, when the force of prana is greatest. It is an expansive upward moving force that makes us feel energetic and emotional, and can increase the tendency to lose touch with the earth, and to be less grounded.

The energy of the new moon corresponds to the end of the exhalation when the force of the apana is greatest. Apana is a downward force that contracts and makes us feel calm and grounded, yet dense and unwilling to physical exertion.

This imposed day of rest is also a way of cutting off the usual routine of a daily practice, and of detaching oneself from the practice.

Over time, the practice of yoga allows you to develop a greater sensitivity to movements and energetic influences.

New Moon
Full moon

Sun 02, Jan.

Wed 01, Feb.

Tue 02, Tue.

Fri 01, Apr.

 Mon 16, May.

Tue 14, June

Wed 13, Jul

Fri 12, Aug.

Sat 10, Sep.

Sun 09, Oct.

Mar 08, Nov.

Thu 08, Dec.

Wed 18, Jan.

Wed 16, Feb.

Fri 18, Tue.

Sat 16 & 30, Apr.

Mon 30, May.

Wed 29, June

Thu 28, Jul.

Sat 27, Aug.

Sun 25, Sep.

Tue 25, Oct.

Wed 23, Nov.

Thu 23, Dec.

Calendrier des jours de lune

Dans la tradition Ashtanga Vinyasa, nous ne pratiquons pas les asanas les jours de la lune.

Les  cours  du matin sont remplacés par un cours de Pranayama, ouvert à tous, de 06h30 à 08h00.

Quel est le raisonnement derrière cela?

Comme toutes les choses de nature aquatique (les êtres humains sont composé à environ 70% d'eau), nous sommes affectés par les phases de la lune. Les phases de la lune sont déterminées par la position relative de la lune par rapport au soleil. Les pleines lunes se produisent lorsqu'elles sont en opposition et les nouvelles lunes lorsqu'elles sont en conjonction. Le soleil et la lune exercent tous deux une attraction gravitationnelle sur la terre. Leurs positions relatives créent différentes expériences énergétiques qui peuvent être comparées au cycle respiratoire.

 

L'énergie de la pleine lune fournit de l'énergie et de la chaleur, elle correspond à la fin de l'inhalation, lorsque la force du prana est la plus grande. Il s'agit d'une force de mouvement ascendante expansive qui nous fait nous sentir énergiques et émotionnels, et peut augmenter la tendance à perdre le contact avec la terre, et d'être moins ancrés.

L'énergie de la nouvelle lune correspond à la fin de l'expiration lorsque la force de l'apana est la plus grande. Apana est une force descendante qui se contracte et qui nous fait nous sentir calmes et ancrés, mais dense et peu enclins à l'effort physique.

Ce jour de repos imposé, est aussi une façon de couper la routine habituelle d'une pratique quotidienne, et de se détacher de la pratique.

Au fil du temps, la pratique du yoga permet de développer une plus grande sensibilité aux mouvements et aux influences énergétiques.

Pleine Lune
Nouvelle Lune

Merc 13, janv.

Jeu 11, fév.

Sam 13, mar.

Lun 12, avr.

Mar 11, mai.

Jeu 10, juin

Sam 10, juil.

Dim 08, aoû.

Mar 07, sep.

Mer 06, oct.

Jeu 04, nov.

Sam 04, déc.

Jeu 28, janv.

Sam 27, fév.

Dim 28, mar.

Mar 27, avr.

Mer 26, mai.

Jeu 24, juin

Sam 24, juil.

Dim 22, aoû.

Mar 21, sep.

Mer 20, oct.

Ven 19, nov.

Dim 19, déc.