top of page

Ashtanga Vinyasa

We studied Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga with Mark & Joanne Darby and Shankara Darby.

Darby and Joanne were part of the first group of Pattabhi Jois students in Mysore in the 1970s, where they lived for 4 years. They then continued their practice in India on a regular basis from 2001 to 2009, until the death of Sri K. Pattabhi Jois.

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is a yoga practice based on dynamic and stimulating asana sequences to build spiritual strength, which includes the development of Vinyasa (synchronization of movement with breathing) by T. Krishnamacharya and K. Pattabhi Jois.

Digasana - Virabhadrasana lll - Ashtanga Yoga Lausanne

 The foundation of the practice is based on 3 important places of action and attention called Tristana. These cover three levels of purification: body, nervous system and mind. They are always performed in conjunction with one another. Asana the posture (Bandhas) purifies, strengthens and gives flexibility to the body. Breathing must be stable, slow and full-bodied, with the same length on inhalation as on exhalation, to purify the nervous system. Dristhi is the direction you look in a posture. There are nine dristhis: nose, 3rd eye, navel, thumb, hands, feet, top, right side and left side. Dristhi purify and stabilize the functioning of the mind. These three tools transform asana (physical) practice from a simple bodily exercise into a total mind-body experience.

There are 6 Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga series. The first is designed to realign and detoxify the body. The intermediate series has an impact on purifying the nervous system. Most practitioners get all the benefits of the first two series, and those who can and if necessary go on to the advanced A, B, C and D series, called Sthira Bhaga (stable & strength), but all levels of practice will lead to what you need to understand.

With regular practice, and when the three components (Tristana) are in harmony, synchronized with movement and breathing through the sequences of postures, the yogi (the sadhaka) enters the seventh part of Ashtanga Yoga, meditation (dhyana), then to arrive in a state of yoga. In order to regain integrity.

bottom of page

top of page

Ashtanga Vinyasa

Nous avons étudié l'Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga avec Mark & Joanne Darby et Shankara Darby.

Darby et Joanne ont fait partie du premier groupe des élèves de Pattabhi Jois à Mysore dans les années 1970, où ils ont vécu pendant 4 ans. Ils ont ensuite poursuivi leur pratique en Inde de manière régulière de 2001 à 2009, jusqu'au décès de Sri K. Pattabhi Jois.

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga ’est une pratique de yoga, basée sur des séquences d'asanas dynamiques et stimulantes pour construire la force spirituelle, qui comporte le développement du Vinyasa (synchronisation du mouvement sur la respiration) par T. Krishnamacharya et K. Pattabhi Jois.

Digasana - Virabhadrasana lll - Ashtanga Yoga Lausanne

Le fondement de la pratique est basé sur 3 lieux d'action et d'attention important appelé Tristana. Ceux-ci couvrent trois niveaux de purification : le corps, le système nerveux et l’esprit. Ils sont toujours effectués en conjonction avec l’autre. Asana la posture (Bandhas) permet de purifier, de renforcer et de donner la flexibilité au corps. La respiration doit être stable, lente et habiter tout le corps, même longueur à l’inspiration qu'à l’expiration, ce qui permet de purifier le système nerveux. Dristhi est la direction où vous regardez dans une posture. Il y a neuf dristhis: le nez, 3e oeil, nombril, le pouce, mains, pieds, haut, côté droit et côté gauche. Dristhi purifie et stabilise le fonctionnement de l’esprit. Ces trois outils transforment la pratique d'asana (physique) d'un simple exercice corporel en une expérience totale esprit-corps.

Il y a 6 séries Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga. La première a été conçue pour réaligner et détoxiquer le corps. La série intermédiaire a un impact sur la purification du système nerveux. La plupart des praticiens obtiennent tous les avantages des deux premières séries, et ceux qui peuvent et si cela est nécessaire vont aux séries avancées A, B, C et D, appelées Sthira Bhaga (stable & force), mais tous les niveaux de pratique conduiront à ce que vous avez besoin de comprendre.

​​

Avec une pratique régulière, et lorsque les trois composantes (Tristana) sont en harmonie, synchronisée avec le mouvement et la respiration (Vinyasa) à travers les séquences de postures, le yogi (le sadhaka) entre dans la septième partie de l'Ashtanga Yoga, la méditation (dhyana), puis pour arriver dans un état de yoga. Afin de retrouver son intégrité.

bottom of page